Get Best Bhutan Holiday Packages | Bhutan Inbound Tour

Eastern Bhutan (100-6000m)

East Bhutan comprises the districts of Mongar, Lhuntshe, Tashigang, Tashiyangtshe, Pemagatshel, and Samdrupjongkhar at the Southern border. If you want to see authentic Bhutan, no place will justify it like the East of Bhutan. The place is marked by raw natural beauty and a pristine environment. The onslaught of globalization has not yet taken place here. The people are warm and friendly and assure us that Happiness can be found in simple things which can be found anywhere and in anything.

14 Top Interesting Facts about Eastern Bhutan (Tashigang, Mongar, Lhuntshe, Tashiyangtshe, Pemagatshel, and Samdrupjongkhar)

  1. Tashigang is also called "The Jewel of the East",
  2. The semi-nomadic people of Merak and Sakteng also fall under the Tashigang district.
  3. Tashigang is home to the Sakteng Wildlife Sanctuary.
  4. The road approaching Mongar is one of the most spectacular journeys in the country.
  5. A short stretch of 26 Km in Mongar between Sengor and Yonkola is considered “Birding Capital of The World”
  6. Mongar contains part of the Thrumshing La National Park, and Bumdeling Wildlife Sanctuary (the gewog of Sharmung). 
  7. Lhuntshe is the ancestral home of our Kings and hosts several of the sacred sites of pilgrimage in the country.
  8. Most of the Lhuntshe district is part of the environmentally protected areas of Bhutan.
  9. Lhuntshe contains parts of Wangchuck Centennial Park in the north, Thrumshing La National Park in the south, and Bumdeling Wildlife Sanctuary in the east.
  10. Tashiyangtshe is popular for flora, fauna, Chorten Kora, Gomphu Kora, Painting School, Bumdeling Wildlife Sanctuary, and Black Necked Crane
  11. The people of Trashiyangtse have incredible skills in woodworking and paper-making.
  12. Pemagatshel translates to “Lotus Garden of Happiness”.
  13. Pemagatshel is famous for i